What ABOUT.ME?

25 Jun

A lot of companies are using Social Media and Networks for the recruiting process. They want to find out more about the job candidates. It is important for them to get to know how this person acts in “real life”.

Often it is the case that job candidates dissimulate during the job interview and the recruiter therefore cannot find out, what kind of person is sitting in front of him or her.

At this point Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn are jumping in and changing the whole first impression that you got from the job candidate. Those Social Networks could change the opinion of the hiring manager from hiring you to definitely NOT hiring you. But what could you do to improve your whole online profile?

Erica Swallow showed in her article the infographic “Job Screening with Social Networks”, which point out some interesting facts and statistics. As you can see in the infographic below, there are more than 90% of recruiters that use social network sites to screen job candidates.

According to the infographic almost 70% of the recruiters have already rejected a person because of their social network sites and what they read on them.

However on the other side 68% of the recruiters have already hired a person because of their so social network sites. So having an online profile could not only be bad for you in the hiring process, it also could be supportive and profitable.

It is important that you have such a beneficial online profile and that’s why I would like to introduce to you ABOUT.ME.

“About.me is a free service that lets you create a beautiful one-page website that’s all about you and your interests. Upload a photo, write a short bio, and add your favorite social networks to show the world the big picture of you.”

It is so easy to develop such a page and the result is amazing. Such a page is very appealing for the people, who want to get to know more about you. It gives a first important impression.

To show you an example I found the about.me page from our teacher Dr. Bruce Spear.

Another example, which I really want to introduce to you, is the one from Jan Minihane. When you see such an about.me page, would you not also think as a recruiter: Yes, I want to hire this person?

I think about.me is a great opportunity to have a great online profile! Such a page looks professional and is very advantageous for you in the hiring process! So check out ABOUT.ME and develop your own impressive online profile!

4 Responses to “What ABOUT.ME?”

  1. Alexandra June 25, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Hey Melissa!
    Thank you for introducing this interesting site! I haven’t heard about it before, although I do know that a lot of employers check social networks to see if job candidates are really qualified. You chose images that perfectly underline your points and visualize what you are trying to say. Of course some oponions of employers on about.me would have been interesting, but I know that you have your WBS examination this week, so I understand that you didn’t have the time to do some further research. Still, your post is definitly worth reading!

  2. Nicpic June 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Hi Melissa,
    What a wonderfully interesting post!Like Alex I had not yet heard of this site before you introduced it.
    I think it is incredibly important to get people’s attention to the fact that social networks are being checked by employers. And even can be a reason for not hiring a person.
    Although l was already aware of the negative effect I have to admit that I had not yet thought about the positive benefits a social network site might also carry with it. It is interesting to see that some employers actually hire people because of their site instead of in spite of.
    About me seems a great way of presenting yourself in a positive way! However I doubt that employers will not continue checking facebook and Twitter. Don’t you think that the positive effect a nice about.me page might have is going to be canceled out by a facebook profile overloaded with pictures of you drinking alcohol or doing who knows what?
    Furthermore I thought i would learn a bit more about the site in your post, but since Alex explained that you have your colloquial this is understandable.
    Great job Melissa!
    Are you going to continue with this topic next week? If so I’m definitely going to read it!
    Nicky

  3. rosepanama June 25, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    Hi Melissa,

    Thanks for contributing such an insightful post to our blog! The aspects you discuss in your post are very interesting! I knew that recruiters sometimes use Social Media in order to get a clearer picture of the job incumbents but I didn’t know to what extend.
    It is great that you introduced the ABOUT.ME page! Moreover, it is fascinating how many persons use it. I didn’t know that even Dr. B uses it. I definitely want to more learn about that page.
    This is what I think could have been a little bit better about your post. How do you create a good and valuable ABOUT.ME page? What are the secret ingredients to have an appropriate online presence?
    Nevertheless, it is great that you inserted the diagram of “Job Screening with Social Networks”. Did you also found some data about the current use of recruiters concerning ABOUT.ME?

    Cheers,
    Rose

  4. Nicole June 25, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Thumbs up for your post Melissa!
    It revealed something I have never thought about in these dimensions: 91% of employers check applicants social network profiles, … this is really alarming! Somehow, I already heard about some exceptional cases in which employers screened their future employees but I didn’t know that the percentage is that high.
    In this context, I do not always think about the employee’s point of view but also I think about the employers: What would I do if I am the employer? Would I also screen the applicants? Would I want to know about their private lives? What do I hope to find out? Do those social network profiles truly suggest a person’s professional competencies and attitudes?
    Furthermore, I appreciate that you provide your reader with an alternative to avoid unwanted screening of private profiles. But as Nicky already pointed out, I am note sure if employers would only rely on the information presented on about.me. If I were the employer, I would know that everything on this side is more or less “sugarcoated” and then turn back to Facebook.
    Anyhow, I like the idea behind about.me and it is great of you to share it with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

