The power of ideas – A start-up business in Berlin

25 May

Last week I wrote about agricultural start-up businesses in the third-world, in Nicaragua. So this week I would like to focus on a local business idea in Berlin that is pretty new and came up short time ago.

Due to the ever growing petrol prices, more and more people decide to go by bike rather than use a car. Therefore bicycling plays an increasing role as a means of transport, over all in cities, for more and more people. The idea of the start-up company “Fahrer” was to individualize bicycling, to make cycles be eyecatchers. But the products of “Fahrer” should not only be individual, but also provide more comfort for bikers and support their mobility.

The company for example produces special bags that can be fixed on the bike or Smartphone holders. However you may wonder, what is so innovative and interesting about this company, so let me tell you the most important fact about the products:

Everything is made from used materials like banner ads, truck tarpaulins or boat covers. These are synthetic materials and companies after using it a while (advertisement banners for example are used on average two months) they have to be disposed. Usually these materials must be burned, which produces a lot of emissions. In order to avoid environmental pollution, rubbish and not fully utilized resources, the company “Fahrer” makes its products out of these high quality and durable material. Consequently the life span of these materials can be extended as they are recycled.

This process makes the company´s products so interesting and valuable. If you buy a bag for example, you can trace back the former use of the material your bag is made of and you can find out what it was used for. Besides all series are limited and each piece is unique, so the goods are scarce and extremely individual. Moreover “Fahrer” has not only a sustainable production, but is also involved in social cooperation with handicapped people who contribute to the production process.

So all in all, this business idea of using amongst others old banners or advertisement bills to produce goods for an environmental-friendly means of transportation, the bicycle, is not only unique and very convincing, but also very successful because of its sustainability and the rising consciousness of the consumers.

Are you interested? For more information visit the company´s homepage:

http://www.fahrer-berlin.de

 

 

4 Responses to “The power of ideas – A start-up business in Berlin”

  1. rosepanama May 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Hey Sabrina!!
    Thanks for your very informative post 🙂 I really like the idea of recycling old banners, and truck tarpaulins in order to create a new product!
    Since I come from the “bicylce-city” Münster, I love to go by bike, even in Berlin!
    Have you ever heard about the Freitag bags? They kind of have the same concept as they also use old truck tarpaulins to produce their bags.
    I found your blog post very informative and well written!
    One advice I would like you to give is to insert some links in your next post! You mentioned for example that the organization is involved in social cooperation with handicapped people. There for example it would have been great to create a link to my blog post about CSR!
    Nevertheless:
    Good job!

  2. Mai May 28, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    Hi Sabrina. Very interesting start up you found there. I agree with Rose; this idea of recycling is a great start to turn our throw away society into a more economic friendly one. I also know Friday bags, they are nice but unfortunately very expensive. I guess it’s the same for Fahrer articles.
    What is of interest for me: Where did you find out about Fahrer? Was there a story behind? Would have loved so read how you found them.
    On top of that, again I agree with Rose. Some links are missing, e.g. a direct link to fahrer-berlin.de. Links make it very convenient for readers like me,therefore try to insert some next time 😉

  3. Ferhat May 28, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    Hi Sabrina
    I read the comments of Rose and Mai and I agree them. However it’s an interesting topic and I admit that I’m always interested in articles with environmental content. Are you going to write more about ‘Fahrer’ or the company’s strategy the next time? I’m looking forward to your next post.

  4. sabrinacz May 30, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Hey! Thank you for your feedback.
    Well, I have already heard about Freitag bags, I really like the recycling ideas!
    I inserted in my blog post the hp-address of the Fahrer-company, nevertheless you are right, I should insert it as a link. I will do it in my next blog posts.
    Mai, you ask, how I came across this company. So for Eastern I travelled with a “Mitfahrgelegenheit” to Poland. And during the travel I got to know one of the campany founders who told me about his company, Fahrer. It was a pretty interesting conversation, therefore I wanted to introduce our blog readers to the idea of the company.
    However, I don´t plan to write further about Fahrer, because I will probably concentrate on another topic for the next four weeks.

Leave a Reply

