24/7 shops shopping paradise or horror?

8 May

Just imagine: It is Sunday- you have invited friends over for dinner.
Of course you were buying groceries Saturday. But on Sunday morning you realize you forgot to buy the spaghetti and your friends just love spaghetti with a glass of red wine. But unfortunately it’s Sunday and all shops are closed. In such moments you start to wonder why don´t we have a 24 hour shopping paradise in Germany?
Wouldn´t be nice and convenient to go shopping whenever you want?
Surely it would be so! But there are people who are against it.

Sundays and holidays are called “days of rest” for religious reasons. But they should also serve for rest and recreation of workers and their participation in social life. In the Book of Genesis 2.2: “By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from his work” Although God is powerful, he also needed to rest so that we us human created by God must rest on the seventh day. We see one of the reasons is the religious background.

Also a study of ver.di union showed that longer opening times are not profitable: “Despite long hours of the sale of retail sales in Germany last year shrank by 2.2 percent”. Since in the late evening hours are not enough people willing to buy, but the companies still have labor costs and electricity consumption cost.

The night shift employees are mostly temporary workers. This means that for the same work that their early shift colleagues are doing, they get a lot less money. And the agency workers toil as well as the permanent employees, perhaps even more. They fill the shelves while, some drunk people ask for potato chips and another beer.After 24/7 workshift

So who benefits from 24/7 shops now? So I think we do, who couldn`t handle to get everything at once. Surely 24/7 is useful from time to time. But don’t you thing, if 24/7 would be integrated into our society, it would only shift our shopping rhythms.

4 Responses to “24/7 shops shopping paradise or horror?”

  1. HAS May 9, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    Hey angie2012!

    Interesting topic and I know the problem myself, because I almost always forget something and often I wish, that 7/24 shops would be more often situated in Germany. However I was not aware, that they are really that unprofitable. I consider your use of different sources (the bible and ver.di) well-done, because this is more subjective. In contrast to that I would suggest to pay more attention to your picture selection, because I think there would have been a better matching picture for your blog.

    Nevertheless: well done!

  2. Fenja May 9, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Great topic, Angie!
    I was very suprised to see you included a quote from the bible in your post – a great idea I find as it gives your post an unexpected twist.
    It was also a good idea to incorporate some facts, like the figures from ver.di.
    I also totally agree with your conclusion that a 24/7 opening-hour-policy would simply shift shopping rhythms: I myself work at a grocery store that has rather longish opening hours (it’s open Mon-Sat, 7am-10pm) and my personal impression is that the people that come in to shop in the late hours aren’t mostly those who really can’t go shopping another time due to work etc, or those you simply forgot one important item.
    Rather, I often feel like they just come in late because they were to lazy to come earlier. This gets me really annoyed sometimes, because honestly: Who in the world would like to work till 10pm on a Saturday night, let alone on a Sunday!:)

    Long story short – a very enjoyable post!

  3. melissano18 May 9, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Hey Angi!
    Very interesting thoughts you developed in your post! When I think about 24/7 shops I just think: “Great, that is what I want! A shop where you can go whenever you want to and if you forget a thing – no problem!”. When I was in America for one year I often went shopping at Walmart and I enjoyed buying whatever I wanted whenever I wanted. I have never really thought about all the consequences for the employees and also for our shopping rhythms as you mentioned.
    I liked how you started your post with this little introduction and a question, which brings the reader right into the topic.
    Also the religious reason you wrote about is very interesting and gives the whole topic a different view.
    A very well written post! I am looking forward to your next one!

    • LittleMissConny May 10, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Hello Angelika,

      the title of your blogpost made me really curious about your opinion on 24/7 shops since you immediately started with a challenging question:

      Horror or Paradise?

      First of al I could really identify myself with the scenario. I have had many experiences with last-minute shoppings which is the reason why I’m so glad I live in Berlin. There are many grocery stores in the city where you can buy things at Sunday (although most of them close at 6 pm). Thanks to those stores I have never had the desire to go to a 24/7 store. However I have been to China many times and 24-hours stores are highly convenient there. I did use the chance and shopped until 11pm but I don’t think that people desperately need this opportunity. Therefore I agree with you when you say that 24/7 stores would need make enough profit.

      I generally liked your article, however it would have been great if you included some more pro/con arguments and elaborated more on your own opinion.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

